Day 37

Blessing Day 37: Dessert after dinner…homemade fudge!
Blessing Day 37: “Dessert” after dinner…homemade “fudge”!

I admit, today I was struggling to get through the day… struggling to see the beauty of snow falling when it’s supposed to be spring… struggling to be excited about work when I should be grateful that I have any work at all! I forgot that in the mundane day I was having, I could be consoling Jesus on that Cross by uniting my day to His sorrow. And this being Holy Week!

So I thought back on all the little gifts – the work I have, the girl at work who was so sweet, a promise of a prayer, a Skype date and exciting news from a dear ol’ friend, dinner cooked by Mom, and a little “dessert” which is out of the norm in our house! So many blessings! Silly me.

Which then leads me to tell you about this “fudge”!!! I’ve been looking for creative ways of using whey protein isolate for post-workout recovery, since I don’t care much for the taste on its own. And I stumbled on this great recipe! Be forewarned, it is sticky! But delicious –  you can’t taste the protein powder nor the avocados. I know, right? Avocados. I adapted the recipe from Smart Party Planning, to work with the ingredients I already had in my kitchen. A small square is perfect for a little dessert, but even better for a post-workout protein needs! NB: For optimal recovery post-exercise, carbohydrates should be ingested along with protein, at a ratio of 3:1 for carbs:protein! I won’t go into details here. 🙂 Just enjoy the fudge!

Healthy Chocolate Fudge

2 large just ripe avocados, pitted and peeled

4 scoops (120 g) chocolate whey protein isolate

½ cup cocoa powder

Pinch of salt

2 cups walnuts

1 ½ cup figs, chopped

3 tsp maple syrup (or honey)

Add the avocados, cocoa powder, protein powder, salt, and maple syrup to a food processor. Process until smooth. Add 1 cup of walnuts, 1 cup of dates. Process til smooth, then pour in the 1/2 cup of walnuts, ½ cup dates. Again, once smooth, add the remaining ½ cup of walnuts. Pulse a few times.

Press the fudge into an 8X11 baking pan lined with parchment paper. Freeze at least 3 hours (I left it overnight). Remove from the pan and slice into pieces.

Store the fudge in the freezer. I think it personally tastes better right out of the freezer 🙂

Leave a Reply

